Where seldom is heard a discouraging word…

Home, home on the range…

Antelope Island near Salt Lake City, Utah

Can we just stop for a moment and appreciate the western United States? I mean, seriously. Every day I get to wake up and explore this amazing place. How lucky am I?

Great Salt Lake

Now that the gushing is over, all I could really think about during the drive through Wyoming and Utah (and parts of Colorado) was, “You could get away with anything out here…” “There could be bodies everywhere and no one would ever know…”

I blame my love of scary movies for those thoughts. And my love for Detective Stabler. (If you don’t get that reference to SVU, stop reading my blog now, please. Thank you.)

This part of the U.S. is such a bizarre landscape. In particular, Wyoming. You can drive for miles and miles… and miles, without seeing so much as a gas station (literally, we drove for 3 hours before we saw one the other day) meanwhile watching the antelope, deer, cows and horses on the flat landscape and then BAM. MOUNTAINS. RIVERS. LAKES. The most beautiful landscapes for maybe 10 minutes and WAH WAH… back to nothing. Nada. Zilch. No man’s land.

Then you get to Utah and instantly the landscape changes. Again, there are places west of Salt Lake City (before the Bonneville Salt Flats) where there are no houses, no people, nothing. BUT. Salt Lake City and other surrounding areas are breathtaking. Let’s appreciate for a moment, shall we?

Bonneville Salt Flats

That’s not snow. That’s salt.

West of Salt Lake City.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After the longest football game of my life, about 4 hours in all (including the MUSS rushing the field twice before the game was even over and BYU almost pulling off a midnight miracle) we woke up a headed for West Yellowstone, MT.

When I was a kid, my family went camping through the Badlands and Yellowstone. One might think that our trip to Disney World was my favorite family, but it wasn’t. Yellowstone National Park is the trip I remember most from my childhood. I can still remember seeing moose approach our car, buffalo walking down the street and my brother asking who turns on Old Faithful (sorry, bro – but that actually happened). For me, this leg of the tour was definitely the one I was looking forward to the most.

Lower Falls of the Yellowstone River

I think I could have a whole gallery show of my photos of buffalo after my time at Antelope Island, UT and Yellowstone National Park. It became my obsession. And they were everywhere.

But enough of that. I’m over bison. Until I see the next one…

The Grand Canyon of Yellowstone

Old Faithful

West Thumb Geyser Basin

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pictures will never do Yellowstone any justice. It is something you have to see with your own eyes. The colors, the smells, the sounds – it’s awe-inspiring. You have to remind yourself that you are still in the U.S. It’s just incredible, really. When Old Faithful goes off and you can feel the ground shake and sounds of thunder roar from the hill in front of you… there just aren’t words or pictures to describe that moment. You need to go there for yourself.

And then, the cherry on the cake. We thought it was cool that we saw an elk ram a pickup truck, until we saw a bald eagle eat an otter. Naturally, I broke out in “Circle of Life” from Lion King.

R.I.P. baby otter.

Now, I’m writing to you from Fort Collins, CO. Where the first thing I did was go on a tour of New Belgium Brewery. I will write about that experience soon. A beautiful brewery, great beers and an awesome company. Tomorrow we have Utah State @ Colorado State and then we head to Seattle and Victoria (pit stop in Boise on Sunday night).

We’re already a quarter of the way through our events and it’s been exactly one month since we left the office in North Carolina. Crazy.

About LissaFarrell

Professional tourist moonlighting as a sports marketing professional.
This entry was posted in Football, Nature, Photography, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where seldom is heard a discouraging word…

  1. Lea Ann Thielman says:

    You are such a hilarious writer! I love it and it feels like I am there when I read and see the photos! Hugs my little traveler!

    Make it a great day. Sent from my iPhone.

Leave a Reply

