The End of an Era.

Sorry for the break in posts. I had two weeks at home for the holidays before I hit the road again for two weeks.

The tour is over and the hangover has lifted. And to end it in New Orleans and Nashville? Incredible. I’m not sure that I’ve caught up on sleep yet, but I’m getting there.

IMG_3049How come no one ever warns you about NOLA? When you go to Vegas you get warnings. New Orleans? Nope. There are no rules. None. You want to go to the bathroom on the street? Go for it! Run a red light? Sure! Why not? Order drinks to go? You bet! Bars close when they want to, and as I found that usually means some time around 5am. Ugh. I’m tired just thinking about it.

But aside from the mayhem that is Bourbon Street, New Orleans has some pretty awesome character, live music, art, and drinks (I mean, Hurricanes? And all the bourbon…). I wish I could say I loved the food, but I’m a vegetarian who doesn’t eat seafood… I did love the beignets though.

Beignets from Cafe Du Monde.

Beignets from Cafe Du Monde.

The floor (and my shirt) at Cafe du Monde looked like Linday Lohan’s bathroom after a Saturday night. The line was long, but fast-moving, and the wait is totally worth it. And don’t expect anything but beignets and cafe au lait. It was a party in my mouth.

Aside from the food and drinks, I loved the architecture in the French Quarter. Let’s take a moment to appreciate the beauty (after they sweep the streets and spray down the sidewalks).

IMG_3035

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_3051

 

IMG_3037

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The best part of my job is that it’s a fine line between work and play. There’s a lot of work that goes into the tour, the Sugar Bowl and other events – but the reward is getting to see our work come to life. Plus, we have a lot of fun working together.

One highlight for me was watching FUN. perform at Fan Fest. From the front row. And backstage. I’m a huge FUN. fan, and though my coworkers made fun of me for the entire duration (10 days) of the trip, I let my freak flag fly and enjoyed every minute of the show.

IMG_3006

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_3007

 

IMG_3008

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And if that wasn’t awesome enough, the next day was the Allstate Sugar Bowl. Icing on the very big, very tiring, very long cake that has been this tour.

IMG_3025

 

I can’t wait to go back to New Orleans, hopefully for only 2-3 days, with friends, preferably for Mardi Gras. My suitcase smelled like New Orleans (raw sewage) and I had to throw away the shoes I wore out most of the nights, but it was an awesome trip.

If you get the chance to go here are my tips:

– Go to Frenchman’s Street. The music is far, FAR, better than on Bourbon Street.

– Order a Hurricane to-go and walk down Bourbon Street.

– Fight over beads with someone. Don’t flash anyone for them, that’s tacky.

– Eat at Cafe du Monde. Don’t be discouraged by the line.

– Wear shoes you don’t mind throwing away at the end of your trip. Ideally, these will just be rain boots. DO NOT ATTEMPT TO WEAR HIGH HEELS. Your ankles will thank you.

– Drink bourbon. That should be common sense, but really. Order a good bourbon straight… no ginger, no coke, just ice. Don’t take this one to-go. Do this at a place you can sit and enjoy said nice bourbon.

– Watch karaoke and have a dance party upstairs at The Swamp.

Bourbon Street.

Bourbon Street.

 

About LissaFarrell

Professional tourist moonlighting as a sports marketing professional.
This entry was posted in Food, Football, Music, Nightlife, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The End of an Era.

  1. Pingback: Pour Some Sugar on Me. | feeling fernweh

Leave a Reply

