The Next Chapter

IMG_3302

The tour ended and the panic of finding a new job set in. Fortunately, my account had an opening and I was given two weeks to move to Chicago! I packed up my apartment into my Chrysler and hit the road a snowy February morning. I made it the Windy City and started work the next day.

It’s amazing how quickly I’ve settled into the routines of taking the trains and getting around. My office is on the 27th floor of the Hancock Center and every day I get to look over my computer and see the city. When I make my morning coffee, I look out the office windows at Lake Michigan and the Navy Pier. How lucky am I?

The John Hancock Center

The John Hancock Center

My first week in town included no furniture, my 27th birthday and my first visitor. I had planned a trip to Chicago for this weekend back in September. One of my best friend’s birthdays is just a few days after mine, not to mention the Hockey City Classic happened to fall on that Sunday at Soldier Field.

We had already booked a hotel for the weekend, and with my lack of a couch to sleep on, we decided to keep it. We woke up Saturday morning and started with a trip to the Skydeck at Willis (Sears) Tower.

On the ledge 103 stories above Chicago.

Looking down on The Ledge 103 stories above Chicago.

The view from Skydeck.

The view from Skydeck.

The Ledge. 103 stories up.

The Ledge. 103 stories up.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

All of the times I’ve visited Chicago, I had never visited Willis Tower. The Skydeck includes a great tour and video prior to heading up 103 stories to take in the views. It was one of the better tourist attractions I’ve ever visited. I would definitely recommend it when you come to the Windy City.

Then it was a chilly freezing walk to Millennium Park to continue our full on touristy day.

Obligatory Bean photo.

Obligatory Bean photo.

Bean photos continue.

Bean photos continue.

Don't judge us. Look at his face. He's so mad he's there.

Don’t judge us. Look at his face. He’s so mad he’s there.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After a lot of unsuccessful shopping while freezing our tails off, we gave up and went back to the hotel. To continue a true tourist day, we ordered Gino’s East while pre-gaming and getting ready for the night.

Disco cab.

Disco cab.

Who knew that when the cabbie asked if we liked to pre-game, he really meant he was going to DJ (complete with black lights, strobe lights, and music videos) our drive to Rush & Division.

The next day was the Hockey City Classic at Soldier Field. The outcome of the Gopher game was brutal. I blame the absence of Goldy and the pep band. Just awful without them. BUT it was awesome to be at the first-ever outdoor Gopher hockey game.

Hockey City Classic at Soldier Field.

Hockey City Classic at Soldier Field.

We froze our butts off, but I would do it again in a heartbeat. It was a great time and a great first weekend in my new city.

Trying to stay warm at Soldier Field.

Trying to stay warm at Soldier Field.

I’m looking forward to what this new chapter will bring. I’ve been in Charlotte, NC the past two days to regroup with the team and plan for the next few months. I’ll be heading to two half marathons (Miami and NYC), the Final Four, Frozen Four, D-I Men’s Lacrosse Championship, just to start.

I won’t be traveling 100%, but I will write when I can about exploring this new city as well as all of the new cities I’ll be traveling to.

About LissaFarrell

Professional tourist moonlighting as a sports marketing professional.
This entry was posted in Nightlife, Photography, shopping, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Next Chapter

  1. Lea Ann Thielman says:

    You make me so proud to be your mom. Wish I could hug you… Long distance hugs for now!!!❤💚💜💙💛

    Make it a great day. Sent from my iPhone.

  2. Pingback: Getting Rocked by Rock-tober | feeling fernweh

Leave a Reply

