The Monstah. And the Habah.

A couple of weeks ago, I spent a 30 glorious hours in Boston. I managed to fit a ton into a short amount of time, and work at a half marathon too, but I would definitely like to go back to Boston to explore even more.

After checking on things at work, I met one of our agency partners at Fenway for the Yankees vs. Red Sox game. I paid $50 for 3 innings and it was totally worth it. I would do it again tomorrow.

Yankees @ Red Sox

Yankees @ Red Sox

I can’t even handle it. This stadium is made for black and white, amirite?

After singing “Sweet Caroline” and watching the Red Sox come away with the “W,” it was time to meet our client out for a little football. We went to a local watering hole, the only Texas A&M bar in Boston, to watch the Aggies take on the Tide. Once our client had all the pain he could handle, I went back to the hotel to finish my work for the day.

For those who think that work trips are all fun and games, you’ve seen too many movies. Remember this every time you think we just party all day: I had no room to walk in my room due to the boxes of giveaways. Giveaways I had to then pack into gift bags on a Saturday night. In boston. In my hotel room. Traveling alone for work. Remember that. That’s the only time you’ll hear me complain…

My hotel is the building in front of the tower.

My hotel is the building in front of the tower.

Once the last bag was packed, I decided to take a walk around the area and find a bar to watch some more football and grab dinner. This is where I discovered that every stereotype I’ve heard about the people in Boston was true. 100% fact. Dear people of Boston, you are rude, loud and pretty much the worst. Your city is beautiful, historical and overall pretty awesome. You make me sad. Bartenders and servers made me feel like I was inconveniencing them when I ordered. The hotel staff didn’t even greet me upon check-in and treated me like an idiot when I asked about parking. I didn’t even try to ask for restaurant suggestions…

But I woke up, went to work at the marathon and decided to not let it bother me. Following the race, I went to a place that I wanted to be, where I could see that our troubles are all the same. A place where everybody would be glad when I came. Where everybody would know my name…

boston 2 I had high hopes for the bar that started one of the greatest shows of all-time. And while it was a very fun, unique experience to eat at the bar… the service sucked, typical Boston. YOU ARE THE NAMESAKE FOR A SHOW THAT HAS SOME OF THE GREATEST BARTENDERS IN ALL OF POP CULTURE HISTORY. WTF CHEERS!

I had to clear my head. The Vikings were losing, people were making me sad… BUT the sun was shining and I was in Boston!

Founders memorial in the Boston Common.

Founders memorial in the Boston Common.

The Boston Common was the perfect remedy for my sorrows. I walked and walked and walked some more. From there, I decided to walk all along the waterfront. By the Boston Tea Party, the Harbor, the Aquarium. I walked until I couldn’t walk anymore.

Then I stopped for ice cream at Quincy Market (near Faneuil Hall).

Faneuil Hall

Faneuil Hall

I planned on taking a seat and enjoying my handmade ice cream, until I happened upon a ton of street performers. If you’ve been following this blog, you’ll know that I ADORE street performers. I think they’re incredible. I could get lost in watching them for hours. And I often do. And I did in Boston.

I happened upon a man beginning his show, and decided to stay and watched. He was funny, like really, really funny. Then he started putting on a straight jacket. And rope. And then hung upside down from his feet. AND HE GOT FREE!

I <3 Street Performers

I was so impressed. I know that this is a trick… but is it? He showed us how he practically dislocates his elbows and shoulders to get out of it… It has to be real, right?

UGH I LOVE STREET PERFORMERS!

Anyway. Even though I was disappointed in the people, I really did enjoy Boston. I cannot wait to go back and explore the historical sites and museums. 30 hours just wasn’t enough.

About LissaFarrell

Professional tourist moonlighting as a sports marketing professional.
This entry was posted in Food, Football, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

