Getting Rocked by Rock-tober

After kicking off Rock-tober on a crazy trip for work, it was time to play host and take a weekend doing one of my favorite things… act like a tourist. With my parents in town, it was a great excuse to by the Chicago City Pass and eat deep dish pizza.

1377257_10153320728595551_1797663254_n

The first stop was the Shedd Aquarium. I can’t remember the last time I went to an aquarium, but the Shedd is truly amazing. With the Jellies exhibit still on display, we were all in awe of how many beautiful and creepy and kinda gross, but still stunning, varieties of jellyfish exist.

1380361_10153320754825551_1428783733_n1391629_10153320754615551_870199758_n

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Aren’t they just so weird? I wanted to stay there forever and just stare…

945212_10153320755205551_448963052_n1376429_10153320755440551_174805310_n

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After roughly 4 hours at the aquarium… yep… it was just about time for sunset. We stopped to appreciate the amazing views of the city from the Shedd’s steps and plaza before heading to the Willis Tower to take in the sunset and city lights.

Fall in the Windy City.

Fall in the Windy City.

Seriously, though. Breathtaking.

We booked it over to Sears Willis Tower for the last few minutes of sunlight, at approximately 5:00pm. Brutal. Winter was almost upon us…

Cheesy tourist photo.

Cheesy tourist photo.

I’d been to the Ledge once before, but going at sunset was something I highly recommend. To see the city switch on the lights and transform for the evening, from 103 stories mind you, is a really cool experience. It’s easy to take for granted how truly beautiful this city is when you’re rushing from work to home every day.

Moon over Lake Michigan.

Moon over Lake Michigan.

 

The Ledge.

The Ledge.

Have I mentioned how much I love being a tourist? Look at my face in that picture. Pure bliss. We had to go to another staple in the city to round out the first day, Giordano’s. Chicago style deep dish pizza is the greatest “bad for you” food on the market. After overindulging in its deliciousness, it was time to rest our feet and call it a night.

Day two began at one f my favorite breakfast joints in the city, Ann Sather’s. After filling up on cinnamon rolls and Swedish coffee (aka nectar of the gods), we made our way to the Arts Institute of Chicago. Of course, we stopped and took obligatory bean photos first.

The Bean.

The Bean.

My mom and I could have spent the entire day at the Arts Institute of Chicago. We stayed until closing and still didn’t see everything… But it was time to move on, and my parents wanted a Chicago style hot dog (from Portillo’s obviously) to see my office at the John Hancock Center. And even though we had just been to Willis Tower the day before, you can’t go to Hancock without going upstairs…

1374938_10153324333435551_2069321404_n

This view, while enjoying pumpkin gelato… nuff said. Day Two was in the books.

Day Three proved to be a bit of a letdown. We used our City Passes and headed south, but not too far south, to the Museum of Science and Industry. I had tried to convince my parents of how bad of an idea this was, and that we should really go to the Field Museum… I lost that battle. And before you know it, we were all pretty bored and very disappointed in the experience. The only thing left to do was drink away our sorrows at a new watering hole in my neighborhood called Fountainhead. This farm-to-table bar and restaurant had some of the best desserts I’ve ever had in the city. And an awesome beer selection. I’ve found my new neighborhood favorite.

It was time to say goodbye to my parents and to the city. I had two more trips planned to finish the month.

About LissaFarrell

Professional tourist moonlighting as a sports marketing professional.
This entry was posted in Food, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

