My Return to the Land of Longhorns.

Rock-tober was only halfway over, and I was off to Texas. Again.

If you read prior posts about my adventures in the state where everything is bigger (as I learned on this trip, that even means the fake boobs in Plano…), you’ll read about my love/hate relationship with this state. Previous trips have included behind-the-scenes tours and on-field promotions at Cowboys Stadium, exploring the amazing city of Austin, a romance package gone wrong in Lubbock, and who could forget that time I threw up for 3 hours in a port-a-john at a Rice University football game in Houston. In 100+ degree heat.

Things I like about Texas: my family there, Austin, Tex-mex, it’s hard to get lost…

Things I dislike about Texas: it’s hotter than h-e-double-hockey-sticks, it takes 5 hours to get from point A to point B, lack of scenery while driving from point A to point B, everything is actually bigger…

Regardless, I had a lot of fun on my last trip of the year to Dallas. This wasn’t a normal trip for our team, it was our last marathon together. We were rejoicing in the fact that we will no longer be waking up at 3:30am to go freeze our tails off at the finish line, then tear down and take a flight home… in the same day. I will not miss that.

It also wasn’t a normal trip, because I was flown in a day earlier than usual and was left alone to my own devices for three days before my coworkers joined me.

Day one consisted of me staying at a Holiday Inn Express in Plano, nothing too crazy took place that night. Day two, I met up with my cousins and watched my cousin Kristi’s son’s karate class prior to enjoying a few Shiner Bocks and some delicious food. I switched to my favorite hotel in the DFW area, the Omni Dallas. I love this hotel. I love that it lights up at night, I love that my mirror has a TV in it, I love the coffee and newspaper delivered to my room in the morning, I love the bars in this hotel…. I just love this hotel.

View from my room.

View from my room.

My third, and final, night alone I decided to cheer on the North Dallas Stars. My seat was very inexpensive, so I figured the view wasn’t going to be good but I would still have a good time. My section was empty…

Calgary @ Dallas

Calgary @ Dallas

After a few minutes, I couldn’t handle being alone and sober anymore. Going to a hockey game in Texas was as brutal as I thought it was going to be, so I made the last rational decision of the evening and walked around the stadium in search of dinner. Instead, I found the Jack Daniels bar. Where I stayed until the third period. Where did I watch the third period from? A few rows off the glass with some new friends (who were wearing cowboy boots and hats at a hockey game).

UPGRADE

UPGRADE

Did my escapades end when the game ended? Of course not! If you know me at all, or have read enough of these posts to feel like you know me, you know I love to YOLO the bejeezus out of everything. This doesn’t stop when I’m left alone on a business trip…

Let’s just say the rest of the night was a blast. I went out with some boisterous Canadians all over town, where I then pulled off one of the best Irish exits I’ve ever executed. It was so good, I didn’t even remember the details of how I left until about 4pm the next day.

Am I leaving out HUGE details of this story to keep my dignity intact? Yes, yes I am. Was I still hungover at dinner the next day? Yep, you betcha.

Speaking of dinner the next day, we took a limo (naturally) to a place that made margaritas using dry ice instead of blenders. We were thoroughly impressed. The meal was not as impressive, but man watching the girl bring the cart over and make a margarita with dry ice was cool. We had a great goodbye dinner and a great weekend overall. There are some teammates that I will continue to work with on projects, but I’m sad that I won’t be working regularly with other members of the 13.1 crew. These were fun events, even if I felt like I had been hit by truck after them.

13.1 Crew

13.1 Crew

About LissaFarrell

Professional tourist moonlighting as a marketing professional.
This entry was posted in Food, Nightlife, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

