The Best of What’s Around

“Turns out not where but who you’re with that really matters” – DMB, Best of What’s Around

In trying to find the best way to write this post, I decided that the song mentioned above would be a great backdrop. I’m a closet DMB band-aid (not a groupie, see Almost Famous for a definition of band-aid)… and by closet I mean I’m pretty open about it. I’ve seen them a quite few times, in a handful of different states, since my love began in high school. This song has always been a favorite, but until recently I think I never fully understood the real meaning behind the lyrics.

Leaving my job, friends and family in Minnesota last year was not a decision I made lightly. It was, in fact, something I’ve been considering for years, waiting for the perfect opportunity. I love my job, my apartment, my new friends and the amazing things I get to experience, but it’s definitely not always easy feeling like you’re far away from everything and everyone you know.

Enter DMB. I’ve come to realize that I, without even thinking about it, try to make the best of what’s around. There is a silver lining in every situation and I intend to find it. I always thought that this was normal… you know just part of the human psyche, right? Apparently, I was wrong. I’m a rare breed outside of the friendly confines of Minnesota. I’ve actually been made fun of for my naturally optimistic outlook on life. This does not mean I don’t have my moments/days/weeks where my outlook is clouded.

As you’ve hopefully read, I have been CRAZY busy this fall. It rocked my world in many ways, so much so I got so sick I could barely move for a few days in October… that hasn’t happened in years. I was rocked by the stress, travel, excitement and the fun. Remedy? A much needed weekend with my best girl friends. So when my friend’s little sister invited me to a surprise birthday party, I cashed in some miles and booked a surprise trip home. I kept it secret from the birthday girl, which was incredibly hard to do.

It was exactly what I needed. I laughed so hard it hurt, danced my heinie off and realized that many of my friends were having the same feelings about life, work, relationships (or lack there of) and so on. Yet, we are all finding ways to be resilient and to continue moving forward.

“See, you and me
Have a better time than most can dream
Have it better than the best
And so can pull on through
Whatever tears at us
Whatever holds us down
And if nothing can be done
We’ll make the best of what’s around”

We all spent the weekend drinking, eating, dancing and playing “Heads Up,” the game from Ellen Degeneres. The highlight of this extravaganza? Watching my friend’s mom throw her iPhone across the apartment in an drunken attempt to switch to the next word. If you’ve never played this game, purchase it on your smartphone and play it the next time you’ve had a few Coors Lights/vodka tonics/Cabernets. Laughter will ensue. I promise.

atown down

About LissaFarrell

Professional tourist moonlighting as a marketing professional.
This entry was posted in Food, Nightlife, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

