Are you From Tennessee? Because You’re the Only Ten I See

If I lived in Nashville (which would make my soul so happy), I would use that pick up line on every tourist who walked through the doors at Tootsie’s…

I love Nashville. There are very few cities I’ve been to where I feel home, and this beautiful city is one of them. From the first moment I saw its luscious hills through my airplane window, I knew this city was going to stomp a bootprint right on my heart. Though, going out on Broadway during the Women’s Final Four isn’t exactly the same crowd I had remembered back in the fall.

nashville 3

But it was okay. My insane, two-bedroom, suite at the brand spanking new Omni Hotel made my forget my man troubles (or lack thereof…) while gazing out my floor-to-ceiling windows…

nashville

I’m dying just remembering taking this photo. I want to live in that suite forever and ever…

nashville 2

Y’all, I can’t even. I’m so obsessed it makes life in the Windy City difficult at times. The grass is truly greener in Nashville (I mean that literally, it snowed here like a week ago…). Though I may never move there, it will hold a place in my heart that can only be filled with frequent vacations back to visit.

Of course we went out Honky Tonkin’ the first night we were in town, and we also ate dinner at my favorite diner – Merchant’s. This little house with the vintage feel has two separate menus, servers that wear bowties, suspenders and skinny jeans, and deviled eggs that will make your grandma turn in her grave (no disrespect, of course).

On my first trip to Nashvegas I received a Hatch Show Print as a gift, so I was happy to find out that the shop was in our hotel lobby. And I went shopping… twice.

Printing posters like it's 1899.

Printing posters like it’s 1899.

I didn't leave empty-handed.

I didn’t leave empty-handed.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I could have spent a whole day in there asking questions about the printing process, but I showed some self-restraint… and purchased one large print (for my mama) and about 5 small card prints.

And yeah, there were some basketball games too… And a concert featuring Cassadee Pope…. but mostly there was just a lot of pimento cheese, bourbon and live music.

I love the Music City and hope to visit again soon. The trip didn’t end here, we went straight to the City of Brotherly Love (Philadelphia) for some hockey and cheese whiz. Lots of cheese whiz.

I’ll write about Philly soon, but for now I leave you with these…

Brittney Griner is 6'8" and wears a men's size 17 shoe.

Brittney Griner is 6’8″ and wears a men’s size 17 shoe.

Tennessee State's marching band... it's a guitar.

Tennessee State’s marching band… it’s a guitar.

Cassadee Pope concert.

Cassadee Pope concert.

 

About LissaFarrell

Professional tourist moonlighting as a sports marketing professional.
This entry was posted in Music, Nightlife, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

