2 Years Later

Wow, I can’t believe it’s been 2 years since I wrote. It is truly amazing how fast life moves, and changes. I’ve changed jobs (and careers altogether) and moved back to Minneapolis. It’s not something I imagined doing, but the job and life in Chicago took a toll and I needed a change. I’m so grateful for the time I had at that job, it provided me the opportunities to visit so many wonderful cities and introduced me to some of my best friends. Chicago is a great city, but it was hard to put roots down when I traveled at the rate I did – and I desperately missed nature!

There are far too many things to list here that have happened in the past two years, so I won’t even attempt to do so. My new job provides me with opportunities for travel (about 20%) and I get to work with animals – which I love. Last week, I spent time within a few feet of 6 elephants that were just rescued from being euthanized in Africa (due to severe drought and poor health). The day before this, I visited a customer who breeds reptiles and roaches… What will tomorrow bring?

Most importantly, my newest career path has allowed me to have free time! For 10 years I worked in sports and entertainment. This means that I’ve missed birthdays, holidays, and numerous occasions with friends and family. For awhile I thought it was worth it. No job is worth it. Work-life balance isn’t just a trendy term created by Millennials, it’s an important practice more of us should aim to achieve. Life is too short to feel chained to a computer or a desk or a job that doesn’t allow you to LIVE.

So with this new found free time, I will be traveling to visit friends in Europe, Canada and around the US! I’ll also have work trips to Southern California, St. Louis and Georgia. Thus, I felt like it was a good time to start writing again.

And, as always, if you have any “must-do” recommendations – PLEASE let me know! In Europe I will be traveling to Munich, Innsbruck, Vaduz, Zurich and the Black Forest.

 

Ciao for now, Lissa

 

About LissaFarrell

Professional tourist moonlighting as a marketing professional.
This entry was posted in Food, Nature, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

